Religious Studies

Curriculum Intent
Curriculum Map



Curriculum Journey








The RS department at Goffs Academy delivers outstanding lessons, enrichment and outcomes throughout all key stages. We understand that our students come from a rapidly and forever-changing world, with a number of ethical, religious and moral considerations to grasp so our curriculum is centred around delivering an accurate depiction of faith, allowing students to reflect on their own morality and also to critically explore the complexities of our modern society. We understand that in Britain today we have a large British, Muslim and non-religious population but we also explore all faiths and drawn links to our local context, for example, we visit a Jain temple five miles from our school setting.

The Curriculum

Our RS curriculum is updated every year to ensure that we are informing students of the root of raw beliefs and application of faith alongside contemporary examples. An example would be us using local crime cases known to our young students whilst applying moral and religious arguments to illuminate the place of RS in our world today. Another example of the points mentioned would be that we also explore quotes in the Bible that could be deemed to be sexist or discriminatory but also look at the context in which they were written. We want to equip students with the knowledge of the source of religious knowledge and the nature of knowledge, so we do not teach religion as a ‘perfect discipline’ rather we embrace all arguments and flaws.

Key Stage 3

We start with a chronological exploration of faith, alongside application of their beliefs in todays world. We also explore philosophical questions within these units. For example, Judaism being the root of Abrahamic faith, thereafter what are the true nature and application of the five pillars in Islam and then was Jesus man, god or a historical figure. We consider both Abrahamic and Dharmic faiths as well as all other faiths e.g. Jainism, Hinduism, Humanism and non religious faiths. Our delivery of content incorporates sociological, philosophical, ethical and synoptic activities to bring the content to life to equip our students with a variety of skillsets.

After we grasp the key foundations of faith and their source of wisdom, we explore all faiths again through life issue units such as ‘Does it matter how we behave in today’s society’ as well as ‘The future of religion’ again fitting in with our ethos of an applicable, accurate and engaging subject delivery. Fitting in with our schools intent we see ourselves as a key route into creating  confident, responsible and articulate learners who are able to challenge some of the issues and dilemmas in our local context.

Key Stage 4

During Key Stage four, whether or not your child chooses to take Religious Studies as a GCSE option, we again explore both Abrahamic and Dharmic faiths through thematic subjects. We expand on the knowledge of both traditions with further detail of their traditions as prescribed by our local syllabus or NATRE, but we ensure we are delivering breath and depth in knowledge. Our curriculum is tailored to the needs, interests of our local context with expert delivery from subject specialists with a range of academic expertise.

We explore a range of philosophical and ethical topics that will be affecting our students and compare their viewpoints to those of religious viewpoints. E.g. Climate change and the view of those who follow different faiths vs our own view. Again, throughout all topics and key stages we also look at non-religious viewpoints taking into account the make up of our local community and reflecting their views too.

Key Stage 5

At sixth form level, students are offered trips and assemblies that focus on religious and historical standpoints in history with expert delivery of content/exploration of morality.

We also offer a popular A-level, this exciting course allows students to explore theological, philosophical and ethical theories in depth.

At their simplest, theological and philosophical questions ask why we exist; what is the purpose of our existence; whether there are higher powers or whether we simply exist in the here and now. Throughout the course students will become familiar with some of the greatest thinkers of human civilisation from the moral philosophers of Ancient Greece, such as Plato and Aristotle, to the rational philosophers of the Enlightenment, such as Jeremy Bentham and Immanuel Kant.

Mr Erhan Bora

Head of Religious Studies