Governance and Scheme of Delegation

Welcome to the Generations Multi Academy Trust

The Generations Multi Academy Trust is a company limited by guarantee and a charitable trust. Responsibility for the academies that make up the trust and for the funds granted by Parliament for providing education in those academies is entrusted to the Board of Trustees.

These Trustees are also the Directors of the company. Much of the work of the Board is delegated to committees; in particular there is a separate committee for each of the academies which works as an Local Academy Board (LAB).

The other Board sub-committees are:

  • Resources and Workforce Development (R&WD)
  • Standards & Achievement (S&A)

Local Academy  Boards debate key matters at school level and pass their recommendations up to the Board, via each committee, for discussion and ratification.

The Trust provides strategic oversight of financial control and strategy through the Chief Financial Officer, the Resources and Workforce Development and the main Trust Board. The Trust’s finances are externally audited on an annual basis.


The role of the Trustees is to provide a strategic view of all academies in the Trust, to ensure accountability and to be a critical friend. The Trustees are responsible for the overall direction of the School.

The Board of Trustees is not responsible for day to day matters within school which is the responsibility of the Principal. Trustees also set and monitor targets, the school budget and the effectiveness of policies to ensure all students have a broad and balanced curriculum.

The Chair of the Trustees is Mr Andrew Clarke and can be contacted via:


The structure and roles for 2020-21 was confirmed at the Board of Trustees meeting on Thursday 10th September 2020.


Position Name
Chair of Trustees/ Member/ Chair of Personnel Mr Andrew Clarke
Member Mr Martin Baker
Member Mr Martin Jackson
Vice Chair of Trustees / Member Miss Vanessa Wright
Trustee / Vice Chair of Trustees / Chair of R&WD Mr Patrick Philpott
Trustee / Executive Principal Ms Alison Garner
Trustee / Chair of Standards & Achievements Mrs Jean Holt
Trustee Mrs Joanna Formoso
Trustee (Support Staff) / Vice Chair of Goffs LAB Mrs Francoise Grote
Trustee (Teaching staff) Mrs Toyin Oyelade
Trustee Mr John O'Sullivan
Trustee Mrs Kathy Dunnett
Trustee / Chair of Goffs LAB Ms Donna Cooper
Trustee Mr Ian Fish
Trustee (Support Staff) Mrs Sandra Skinner
Trustee Mr Kacey Brown
Trustee Vacancy



Generations Multi Academy Trust 2020-21

Chair – Andrew Clarke
Vice Chairs - Patrick Philpott and Vanessa Wright


Committee Membership 2020-21

Generations educational trust 20 21 memberships sept 2020 approved

Business Interests 2020-21


Please see the Declaration of Business Interests 2020-21 document at the bottom of this page.